



Tel: 631-757-4200 | harborfieldslibrary.org info@harborfieldslibrary.org

## **MINUTES - ANNUAL MEETING AND ELECTION - APRIL 6, 2021**

The Library Board of Trustees has appointed Ms. Susan Semple as Chairperson of the Annual Budget Vote & Trustee Election in accordance with the Education Law. The meeting was called to order at 2:55 p.m.

Ms. Semple led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance.

The School Board has, at the request of the Library Board of Trustees, also appointed Mrs. Katherine Rath to serve as the Acting District Clerk for the meeting as provided in the Education Law.

Mrs. Rath announced that the purpose of this meeting is:

- 1. To consider and vote upon the annual appropriation for the expenses of the Harborfields Public Library for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2021 to be raised by tax on all taxable property in the School District in the amount of \$5,109,502, less any sums received from other sources.
- 2. To elect one member of the Board of Trustees for the Public Library of this School District. The position is for a term of five (5) years, beginning on July 1st, 2021 and expiring on June 30<sup>th</sup>, 2026, and will fill the position presently occupied by Mr. David Clemens. The candidate is:

## Mr. David Clemens

3. To transact such other business as may properly come before such meeting.

Ms. Semple asked Mrs. Rath if, as Acting Clerk of the District, the law has been complied with in relation to the publishing of the Notice of Annual Meeting and Election. Mrs. Rath responded that the Notice of the Annual Meeting and Election has been published four times in The Times of Huntington, Northport and East Northport, legal ad section, on February 18<sup>th</sup>, March 4th, March 18<sup>th</sup> and March 25th, 2021, and a signed and notarized affidavit from The Times of Huntington, Northport & East Northport confirming such publications was provided as attached. Ms. Semple noted that it is within the power of this meeting to dispense with the reading of the "Official Notice."

Motion by Mrs. Internant, seconded by Mrs. Schmitt-Conroy, to dispense with the reading of the "Official Notice." carried unanimously.

Ms. Semple asked that Mrs. Rath read the qualifications of a voter. Mrs. Rath stated that in order to vote in this election, a voter must be:

- 1. A citizen of the United States.
- 2. 18 years of age or over.
- 3. A district resident for the past 30 days.

 $\mbox{Mrs.}$  Rath announced the appointment of the Inspectors of Election.

The Library Board of Trustees has appointed, and notification in writing has been sent to, the following Chairperson, Chief Inspector and Inspectors of Election:

## **INSPECTORS OF ELECTION \***

- 1.) Susan Semple, Chairperson
- 2.) Jill Schmitt-Conroy, Chief Inspector
- 3.) Clare Internann
- 4.) Deborah Spreckels

<sup>\*</sup>Carol Solimando was approved but was unable to work the vote due to health concerns and was excused by Mrs. Rath.

## MINUTES - ANNUAL MEETING AND ELECTION - APRIL 6, 2021 – (Continued)

The Inspectors of Election were administered the OATH OF OFFICE by our attorney, Mr. Robert Cohen.

Mrs. Rath stated that a list of all persons to whom an absentee ballot has been issued was available for inspection, upon request prior to the vote, in the office of the Acting District Clerk. No absentee ballots can be accepted after 5:00 p.m.

The voting machine was inspected by the Chairperson, Susan Semple, the Chief Inspector, Jill Schmitt-Conroy, Acting District Clerk, Katherine Rath, and our attorney, Robert Cohen. The Tabulator number, seal number and protective number were noted and recorded.

At 3 p.m. Ms. Semple announced that voting may begin.

At 8:55 p.m., an announcement was made to anyone in the library who has not voted to do so at this time and that all doors of the polling place will be closed at 9:00 p.m.

Chairperson, Susan Semple & Chief Inspector, Jill Schmitt-Conroy, opened all certified envelopes containing absentee ballots.

At 9:00, Ms. Semple announced that the doors of the polling place will be closed. All persons within the polling place shall have an opportunity to vote. At 9:00 p.m. the doors were closed and all persons within the polling place voted. The polls were declared closed.

After direction from the Acting District Clerk, the tabulator machine was locked and (2) computerized tapes were printed from the machine as an official record of the results of the vote, one provided to Lamb & Barnosky and one retained by the Acting District Clerk. The tabulator tape was read and compared with the poll lists and numbered ballot stubs. Each tape was signed by the Chairperson, Ms. Semple and the Chief Inspector, Mrs. Schmitt-Conroy. The seals on the machine were then cut by the Chairperson, Ms. Semple, and the memory cards containing the computerized tally reports were handed to the Acting District Clerk, Mrs. Rath. Mrs. Rath was also given all voted ballots from the machine. There were no spoiled ballots. These ballots must be retained for 1 year. The absentee ballots were then counted and the results recorded. The numbers of the absentee ballots were added to the tally from the tabulator machine and the official results of the election were announced by Attorney, Robert Cohen, from Lamb & Barnosky.

The budget passed, 169 – Yes, 19 – No. There were (75) in-person and (94) Absentee YES Votes, as well as (1) in-person and (18) Absentee NO Votes for the Budget. Mr. Clemens received a total of (169) votes. There were (75) in-person and (94) Absentee Votes for Mr. Clemens as Trustee. There were also (2) write-ins, 1.) Susan Hope and 2.) Gemma Saylor. There were (6) Absentee Ballots that had to be voided due to contradictory markings and there were (17) ballots that did not include a vote for Trustee, which are considered "blank". A copy of the Official Tally of Votes is attached.

The Official Tally of Votes was signed by all Inspectors, the Chairperson, the Acting District Clerk and the Attorney. It will be filed with the District Clerk by our attorney within 24 hours.

Motion by Mrs. Schmitt-Conroy, seconded by Mrs. Internann, to adjourn the meeting at 9:37 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Katherine Rath, Acting District Clerk for Jenny Shore, Secretary